LCD Soundstem, Taylor Swift, Mitskey, Rihanna, and More Make Shortlist for Best Original Song at the 2023 Academy Awards

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has unveiled the shortlists for several categories at the 2023 Academy Awards. The race for Best Original Song, in particular, features an intriguing mix of indie artists and pop stars: LCD Soundstem, Taylor Swift, Mitskey, The Weeknd, Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Jevon, Selena Gomez, and Jazmine Sullivan are all on the shortlist. , which you can find in full below.

The Oscar winners in the Best Original Score category will likely be Ludwig Göransson, John Williams, Hildur Gunadottir, and Alexandre Deplat. Other notable contenders on the shortlist include Terrence Blanchard, Son Lux, Nicholas Britel, and Michael Abels. Find the full shortlist below.

The 2022 Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature went to Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson for Summer of the soulThere are two music-related projects shortlisted for the 2023 award: Brett Morgan’s David Bowie film, Monague DaydreamingAnd the Hallelujah: Leonard Cohen, Journey, Song.

The shortlist for Best Live Action Short in particular did not have Kendrick Lamar’s “We Cry Together” or Taylor Swift’s “All Too Well: The Short Film,” both of which were eligible for consideration.

The 2022 Academy Award for Best Original Song went to Billie Eilish and Phineas for No Time To Die. Hans Zimmer won Best Original Score for his work on Dune.

The 2023 Academy Awards will take place on Sunday, March 12, 2023, in Hollywood, California. Nominations will be revealed on Tuesday, January 24, 2023.

Music (original score)

Volker Bertelmann – All Quiet on the Western Front
Simon Franglen – Avatar: The Way of Water
Justin Horowitz – Babel
Carter Burwell – The Banshees of Inisherin
Ludwig Göransson – Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Chanda Dhansi – Sincerity
John Powell – Don’t Worry Baby
Sun Lux – everything everywhere at once
John Williams – Fablemans
Nathan Johnson – Onion Glass: Knives Out Mystery
Alexandre Desplat – Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro
Michael Abels – No
Nicholas Brittle – She said
Terrence Blanchard – The Woman King
Hildur Guðnadóttir – Women speaking

Music (original song)

Jevon – time (Amsterdam)
Weekend – nothing to lose (You give me strength) (Avatar: Water Road)
Rihanna – Lift Me Up (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)
Son Lux featuring Mitski and David Byrne – This Is a Life (Everything everywhere at once)
Gregory Mann – Ciao Papa (Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro)
Rita Wilson and Sebastian Yatra – Until You’re Home (A man called Otto)
Rahul Sipligung, Kala Bhairava and MM Kiravani – Nathu Nattu ($$$$)
Selena Gomez – My Mind and Me (Selena Gomez: My mind and me)
Ryan Reynolds, Will Ferrell and the Zeal Squad – Good Afternoon (Lusty)
Sofia Carson – Applause (Say it like a woman)
Jazmine Sullivan – Stand Up (Even)
Lady Gaga – Hold My Hand (Top Gun: Maverick)
Ralph and Norah Jones – Dust & Ash (The sound of dust and ash)
Taylor Swift – Carolina (Where the Cordads sing)
LCD Sound System – New Body Roomba (white noise)

#LCD #Soundstem #Taylor #Swift #Mitskey #Rihanna #Shortlist #Original #Song #Academy #Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *