A breakdown of all of Princess Catherine’s royal titles through the years

A breakdown of Princess Kate’s royal titlesMax Mambi / Indigo – Getty Images

Since marrying into the British royal family, Kate Middleton—now Catherine, Princess of Wales—has adopted a few formal (and sometimes mouth-watering) royal titles that represent her major royal duties throughout the Commonwealth—and the list continues to grow.

This year, with the death of Queen Elizabeth II, Kate has been given a whole new set of titles, as the king’s death ushers in a major shift in the British line of succession.

Just this December, the Princess was given a title that once belonged to her husband, Prince William, which marks her first-ever role in the British Army.

Ahead, see the full breakdown of all the Princess of Wales’ official titles throughout her years in the British royal family.

Princess of Wales

After Queen Elizabeth’s death on September 8, Kate graduated from duchess to princess and was named the new Princess of Wales; Meanwhile, William is named Prince of Wales. Kate inherited the title from her late mother-in-law, Princess Diana, who was married to Prince Charles – now King Charles III – from 1981 to 1996.

While Kate is colloquially referred to as Princess Catherine or Princess Kate, her proper royal name is actually Catherine, Princess of Wales. Like Princess Diana (who was technically Diana, Princess of Wales), Kate was not born into the British royal family, which necessitated that her first name should follow, rather than precede, the title of Princess (lest it be replaced by the first name of her royal-born husband), according to the Peerage .

Princess Kate’s role comes directly below the Queen Consort, which she will likely inherit from Camilla Parker Bowles, (now Camilla, Queen Consort) when William ascends to the throne.

Duchess of Cambridge

Upon marrying Prince William in 2011, Kate was officially named Her Royal Highness, Duchess of Cambridge. It was her first and longest running role. Today, she retains the title of Duchess of Cambridge, though she is elevated to Princess of Wales.

Duchess of Cornwall

Kate also inherited another Duchess title from Camilla – now Her Royal Highness The Princess Consort – following the death of Queen Elizabeth and the subsequent accession of King Charles. Like “Wales,” the name “Cornwall” is a courtesy title one notch below that of King and Queen.

Kate held her old and new Duchess titles — and was officially known as the Duchess of Cornwall and Cambridge — for a day on Sept. 8, which marks the short period between Queen Elizabeth’s death and Charles’s installation as the United Kingdom’s new monarch.

Colonel in the Irish Guards

Kate’s latest title marks her first honorary appointment to the British Army with the Irish Regiment of Guards. She inherited the title in December 2022 from Prince William, who has since been appointed the new Colonel in the Welsh Guards. The princess is the first woman and second female royal after William to take on the honorary military role.

Rugby patron

On Queen Elizabeth’s orders, Kate has been appointed Royal Patron of Rugby Football Union and Rugby Football League – a position previously held by Prince Harry before his 2020 resignation from senior royal roles – in February 2022.

The princess has since visited Twickenham Stadium and met England’s men’s and women’s teams at coaching and coaching sessions for the Six Nations Championships. According to a Kensington Palace press release, the role is closely aligned with her “longstanding passion for sport and the lifelong benefits it can offer, both within our communities and on an individual level”.

Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester

Kate’s territorial titles in Scotland are Duchess of Rothesay and Countess of Chester – both of which are exclusively linked to the heir apparent and inherited from Camilla – according to the country’s ancient peerage system. As in England, Kate can still be considered Duchess of Cornwall in Scotland as well.

Before becoming a princess, Kate was known in Scotland as the Countess of Strathearn.

Countess of Carrick and Baroness Renfrew

Kate’s territorial titles in Northern Ireland are Countess of Carrick and Baroness of Renfrew. While still only a duchess, she was known in the sovereign state of the United Kingdom as Lady Carrickfergus.

You may also like

#breakdown #Princess #Catherines #royal #titles #years

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *